Skip to content
May 22, 2013 / Ingrid

Clean-up & Forward Movement

For several weeks now, I have been procrastinating the clean-up of Jesse’s room. We had been strategically taping the numerous get well cards on his bedroom wall as they arrived in the mail. This provided a visual reminder of all those praying, encouraging and loving him. He had acquired so many cards, gifts, letters and pictures that adorned his room but it all became quite overwhelming after Jesse went to heaven.

The questions then began to arise, “What should we do with his room? When should we do it? What do we keep? What do we give away?”. All of which were hard to consider. Initially, I didn’t want to do anything. I thought, “This is Jesse’s room and it’s gonna stay this way!”.

Well, yesterday it hit me. I felt it was time to move forward…
Taking one small step at a time, I carefully removed each and every card from his wall. I smiled and my heart warmed as I read the names written on the cards. Several colored drawings and coloring book pages came down, too. It was amazing to be reminded of the number of people that love Jesse. All of these items, plus letters, more cards and several handmade posters were gathered and neatly packed away.

As I went through his drawers and closet, I was overwhelmed with sadness. His clothes were so neat and orderly, just like I taught him. But major decisions could not be made about his clothing at that time, I had to just shut the drawers and walk away.

Finally, after tackling each small task and making decisions about his things which seemed huge to me, the project was done. Jesse’s room was all cleaned up… still reflecting his personality but with way less clutter.

With another milestone hurdled and memories preserved, we are ready to take another step forward towards a brighter future…

“Thank you Lord for the ability and strength to move forward. Thank you for the love and support of our family and friends. Thank you Lord for loving us, providing our needs and promising us eternal life with Jesus Christ and our loved ones awaiting us in heaven. In Jesus name, I pray these things. Amen!” ~Ingrid

1 Peter 5:10
“And after you have suffered a little while, the God of all grace, who has called you to his eternal glory in Christ, will himself restore, confirm, strengthen, and establish you.”

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Leilani / May 22 2013 10:45 am

    What an accomplishment! That’s a huge step. One day at a time dear friend. Only you know what you can handle. I will continue to pray for you, Scott and Savannah. Love you all.

    Like

  2. Diane Snellenberger / May 22 2013 12:48 pm

    It is the hardest thing to do. So many memories. Baby steps, doing only what you feel you can handle as you go. Prayers are still with you all. When you get lonely, those memories that are packed away, can come out and comfort you. I know that’s how it is for me with memories of my dad. Above all, he is always and forever in your heart. Always know that we are there for you guys if you ever need us. God bless you all.

    Like

  3. nick / Jun 29 2013 11:29 am

    God bless you

    Like

Leave a Reply

