Skip to content
December 23, 2011 / Ingrid

December 22nd “Pay It Forward”

Pay It Forward…

You may remember the movie. Well, our family received an overwhelming blessing of this very generous act.  I was approached by someone who I didn’t know very well and was told she was thrilled to be the messenger for a very special family that had a gift for Jesse.  She shared with me that this family heard of Jesse’s diagnosis (but does not know him personally) and wanted to bless him.  They too have a son that had the ALL diagnosis and is now a healthy, happy child.  This family wanted to give Jesse a gift that would help make his hospital stays, doctor appointments, school work and connection to those that care about him easier during this journey.  Jesse accepted the anonymous gift.  The moment was perfect… all four of us were home alone sitting on the bed as he opened the envelope of this beautifully wrapped 5-tier package.  Jesse read aloud the anonymous letter that shared the giving family’s purpose and heart.  I could see the amazement on his face and hear the emotion in his voice.  Jesse carefully tore into each perfectly wrapped gift in awe and when the I-Pad 2 appeared he had to catch his breath.  Tears came down his face and said, “I do not deserve this.”  He was so moved and could not believe that someone who didn’t even know him could do such a generous thing.  A very long discussion then followed explaining the love of Jesus.  The end of the anonymous letter reads: “Our family will be praying for you and your complete healing. “For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.” – Jeremiah 29:11    With love and support, Your friends in Christ”

9 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. lynn and jeff / Dec 24 2011 4:37 am

    Awesome!

    …love to you all this Christmas

    Like

  2. Grandpa Buck / Dec 24 2011 7:02 am

    The love of God passes all understanding. You know what, Jesse? I’ll bet “Pay It Forward” is Jesus’s very favorite movie. And you know what else, when you said “I don’t deserve this”, I’ll bet He said, “Yes, you do!”

    Like

  3. Uncle Rob / Dec 24 2011 8:52 am

    And people want to take the Christ out of Christmas….well….kinda makes that seem silly now doesn’t it.

    Like

  4. Gary & Brenda Bittner / Dec 24 2011 10:45 am

    What an awesome story I got God bumps. Gary and I are praying for you all and wish you a Blessed CHRISTmas!

    Like

  5. Leilani Schleuning / Dec 24 2011 11:35 am

    I believe that the Lord uses ordinary people as His angels sometimes. What a generous and thoughtful blessing. May the Hourigan family continue to be blessed and the angel’s family be richly blessed. God is showing himself isn’t he? Our God is an awesome God! Praise you Lord!

    Like

  6. Uncle Tommy / Dec 24 2011 7:43 pm

    2nd Corinthians 5:7 “We walk by faith, not by sight.”

    I love you Jesse and will continue to pray! 🙂

    Like

  7. Michelle Dodson / Dec 24 2011 9:37 pm

    I want to leave a reply, but I am speechless. The only thing that comes to mind right now is part of a song we sang at church tonight. It’s not your traditional Christmas song, but I think you know it 🙂

    “Thank you, oh my Father, for giving us your Son
    And leaving Your Spirit til the work on earth is done.”

    I pray God’s continued blessings on all of you, and I will pray, too, for this anonymous family who has so blessed you. Merry Christmas and love to you all!

    Like

  8. Linda Clayton / Dec 26 2011 9:05 pm

    Absolutely beautiful!

    Like

  9. Anndrea Overby / Jan 9 2012 9:46 pm

    Stay strong Jesse! That was such a beautiful story. I got teary eyed reading it. My brother, Matthew, and the rest of my family are praying for you. Stay Strong!

    Like

Leave a Reply

